A New Season

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven. Ecclesiates 3:1

Since I began studying the organ, regular practice has been the norm. Some days it took effort to get myself to the church organ, but I was so enamored with the instrument that my motivation seldom waned. With increased involvement in my local AGO chapter, I got to be quite the organ geek, spending way too much time with my ‘friends’ Rodgers, Wicks, Bigelow and Allen.

During this organ-intense period of my life a fellow ward organist mentioned as she slid on the bench one Sunday morning, “I haven’t had time to practice at all this week. I haven’t even thought about the organ.”

What?!? How can you not have for the organ? What else is there that could possibly be more important?

Well, I think I’ve come up with a few things recently. Not only have I significantly decreased my organ playing time the past couple months, but if this organ blog were a garden, all the fruit, flowers, and pretty things would have shriveled and died from neglect and be overrun by nasty weeds by now. But that’s okay. It’s just a blog. (No offense, WordPress people. It may be your life, but it’s not mine.)

My organistic ventures may be limping along at the moment, but my family is blooming beautifully. A happy, handsome son returning home from his two year missionary service and a daughter giving birth to a beautiful little angel (my first grandchild!) have put me in the ranks of “I haven’t had time to practice at all this week.”

It’s great. I’m loving it!!

I’ll get back to the organ. But for now…

This is the day which the Lord hath made; I will rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

A note to Linda, Mark, Douglas, Mike and Jacqueline—I have received, read, and enjoyed your SALSA responses. Thank you so much! And I will be sharing them soon. Promise!

2 thoughts on “A New Season

  1. Florence, I can wholly endorse the thoughts in your blog, because I’m going through much the same thing, only with a slight twist. Since returning from THE TRIP, I’ve realized how much more worthy music there is…and also realized that I’m spending far too much time preparing “average” music for solos in Sacrament Meeting. The decision for me was to spend more of my time with the “old masters” and less time filling the “intermediate” time niche in our meetings. Indeed, there is a time and a season, and it’s now the season for me to get more serious – putting away, as it were, “childish things”. Challenging and yet less complicated, but the way it needs to be – at least for now. I congratulate you for stepping back and being OK with that. You must be very happy to have your missionary home and a granddaughter to spoil! Been there, done that too! So happy for you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

