Why I Like Being Ward Organist

Every church calling has its positives. Even the most-often-turned-down-assignment of Nursery Leader boasts perks of playing with toys, no shoes required, and mandatory snacks. The only thing better than that, in my opinion, is my current assignment as ward organist. Here are some of things I like about this calling:

• sitting in the comfy seats

• being able to stand up and move during the meeting

• job security—no one’s bucking for my calling

• observing the congregation’s reaction to the announcement of a new Relief Society president

• watching parents wrestle with their young ones and being grateful that somehow my kids and I all made it through that stage

• sharing the majesty of the reeds, the power of the 32′ stop and the warmth of the strings with people I love

• feeling the strength of the congregation singing with me

• catching smiles in the congregation after a playing an awesome last-verse arrangement

• playing a 30 minute postlude, just because it feels good and I don’t want to stop

• praising God—without saying a word

What do you like about being an organist?

11 thoughts on “Why I Like Being Ward Organist

  1. I love the feeling of being all alone in a chapel, turning the great and swell expression pedals all the way up, and enjoying the sweet spirit that surrounds you as you play sacred hymns. It ‘s almost magical, until the steadily pounding of a basketball from the connecting gym ruins it all. 🙂

  2. The lack of a 32′ stop is a definite downer. In my small ward building, we don’t have one either, and it would probably take the roof off if we did.

  3. I absolutely LOVE being the ward organist. This is the third ward where I’ve been the ward organist. I’ve grown so much since I’ve been the ward organist every time. I’m so thankful for the talent which Heavenly Father has given me and for my parents for allowing me to take private music lessons. I had the best teacher in the world!

  4. I figure that, along with the job security that tends to come with the position of ward (and stake) organist, it’s going to keep me OUT of bishoprics forever (and ever!) as well. I can live with that.

  5. Don’t forget one of the other important reasons – you’re never late for the meeting because you’re already there playing prelude. Another “favorite calling” (for me, at least) is Temple Organist. Making music in that sacred place is uplifting in a different way from playing every Sunday. Honestly, Florence, are you my twin? Your posts echo perfectly my feelings about being Ward Organist, and about the organ, in general. Keep it up. I love this forum.

  6. No wonder I don’t like the calling! It’s because I still have to wrestle my toddlers in between hymns, and because our organ has no 32′ stop, and because my congregation rarely sings with much strength, and because after postlude, I have to hurry upstairs to teach primary, so I can’t use postlude to get out of Sunday School. Haha, only kidding. The real reason is that practicing is a major pain. Four hymns is just too much to learn in a week. But someday, when I can sightread all the hymns, or when my kids are in school and I have all day to get things done, I think I’ll love it, and then the bishop will probably release me. But I do love teaching primary.

  7. To each their own, as a Scoutmaster here are some things I like about my calling:
    • sitting wherever I want outdoors and being comfortable
    • being in meetings that usually require very little sitting
    • job security—no one’s bucking for my calling
    • observing the congregation’s reaction to the announcement of a young man receiving his Eagle Award
    • watching parents wrestle with their young ones and knowing someday that young boy will be one of my Scouts
    • sharing the majesty of the mountains, the power of the roaring river and the warmth of the campfire with people I love
    • feeling the strength of the boys coming of age
    • catching smiles in the congregation during a Court of Honor
    • playing for 30 minute with the Scouts because you can play
    • praising God—without saying a word
    and being able to listen to a wonderful organist wife 🙂

Leave a Reply

