A Moment of Awesome

I talk to myself. A lot. Especially after playing at a Sunday Service or recital. I try to be kind. But, uh…well…yeah. I try. For some reason it’s often more difficult for me to be kind to myself when I do something well as it is when I do something poorly.

A recent post by DaringYoungMom entitled Drops of Awesome offered a new way for me to talk to myself, which I think is really quite wonderful because with all the years of hearing negative self-talk, I am ready for a change!

“Drops of Awesome!” I thought. Every time you do something good, something kind, something productive, it’s a drop in your Bucket of Awesome. You don’t lose drops for every misstep. You can only build. You can only fill.

All day long I chanted these words in my head…By the end of the day, I had realized something important. If I was spending time with my kids, really listening to them with attention in the moment, then I was a good listener, regardless of the 50 other times I’d brushed them off or multi-tasked while they were talking over the past week.

As I added up these Drops of Awesome, I found that in those moments I actually became the person I had always wanted to be.

You do not need to wait three months to be who you want to be. Pick up ten things right now and say, “Drops of Awesome! I am someone who takes care of my house. That is who I am. I have proof.”

In the end, it’s really about allowing yourself to feel joy and allowing yourself to be proud of the small victories of life.

This idea of allowing myself to celebrate the small victories of life led me to produce a short video of my recent experience with the Salt Lake Tabernacle organ. I think I’m as excited about the creation of my little video as I am about my brief encounter with the 5 manual, 206-rank, Æolian-Skinner organ.

A Moment of Awesome may also be viewed at Animoto.

2 thoughts on “A Moment of Awesome

Leave a Reply

